Type of Law

Partial. All buildings open to the general public in the unincorporated areas of Franklin County (does not include City of Frankfort). Indoor smoking areas are allowed in government buildings and private workplaces.


Where smoking is not prohibited

Any dwelling; room or hall used for private social function and not open to public; any room used for psychological treatment of nicotine addiction by licensed health care professional; physically separate and independently ventilated room in a hospital, hospice, or nursing home open to all residents as a smoking room; retail tobacco store; tobacco warehouse; as part of theatrical production; facilities not open to the public operated by private organizations; indoor smoking areas provided in state or federal government office buildings or workplaces pursuant to KRS 61.165 or in private workplaces.





Implementation Date


Ordinance Enactment Date
04/12/2012 First Reading
Link to Ordinance All Ordinances