Our Website Has Moved!

The new address for the University of Kentucky College of Public Health is www.uky.edu/publichealth.

New Department Addresses
Health Behavior
Health Services Management
Preventive Medicine and Environmental Health

Four College of Public Health Staff/Faculty/Students Honored with Awards, New Posts, at Recent APHA/ASPH Meetings

Four UK College of Public Health faculty/staff members were honored with awards and leadership positions at the American Public Health Association (APHA) Annual Meeting and the Association of Schools of Public Health Annual Meeting, held in conjunction with the APHA meeting in late October in San Francisco, Calif.

American Public Health Association:

Angela Carman, MBA, DrPH, was honored with an APHA award for an outstanding student abstract in public health administration research for her paper, "Has Public Health Embraced Effective Cost Reduction Techniques from the Business Environment?" Dr. Carman is a facilitator with the Kentucky and Appalachia Public Health Training Center (KAPHTC) and is on the research staff of the National Coordinating Center for Public Health Services and Systems Research (NCC), housed at the UK College of Public Health, and is a faculty member in the College.

Kristina Rabarison, MS, DrPH student, was named the recipient of the 2013 APHA Health Administration Student Achievement Award. This award recognizes outstanding achievement and performance in public health administration, as evidenced by student contributions in the areas of practice, research, teaching, volunteerism and writing. Rabarison is a research assistant in the NCC.

Association of Schools of Public Health:

Michelle Lineberry, MA, Assistant Dean for Academic and Faculty Affairs, was named Co-Chair of the Student Practice Group of ASPH.

Erin Louis, MPH, CPH, Director of Workforce Development in the College, was named Chair-Elect for two years (2012-2014) of the Association of Schools of Public Health Continuing Professional Education Council. Following her service as Chair-Elect, Louis will be Chair of the Council for two years. She is assistant director of the Kentucky Public Health Leadership Institute and Program Manager of the Kentucky and Appalachia Public Health Training Center (KAPHTC).