Our Website Has Moved!

The new address for the University of Kentucky College of Public Health is www.uky.edu/publichealth.

New Department Addresses
Health Behavior
Health Services Management
Preventive Medicine and Environmental Health

Theodore Hanekamp Scholarship

Lexington, KY (March 28, 2013) – The Kentucky Public Health Association (KPHA) and the University of Kentucky College of Public Health (CPH) are pleased to announce the Theodore (Ted) Hanekamp Scholarship.

The impact that Ted Hanekamp’ s efforts and work have had on public health at local, state, and national levels is noteworthy. In memory of his passing and to honor his achievements, KPHA and UK CPH have partnered to establish the Theodore (Ted) Hanekamp Scholarship.

“Ted was an integral and beloved member of our organization for decades. He was our face of public health on a national level, serving as the KPHA Delegate to the American Public Health Association for more than twenty years,” said Randy Gooch, KPHA President. “Ted’s compassionate spirit exemplified the nature of caring necessary for life-changing public health work to be done. This scholarship will memorialize Ted’s legacy and prepare other public health professionals to carry on with the work he loved.”

Dr. Stephen W. Wyatt, Dean, University of Kentucky College of Public Health comments, “the Ted Hanekamp Scholarship will help to ensure that our dedicated and talented students will be able to complete their education and make contributions to communities in Kentucky and beyond.”

To be eligible, applicants must be fulltime UK CPH graduate students. The amount of each scholarship(s) will be $5,000 per scholarship. The first Ted Hanekamp Scholarship will be awarded in fall 2015.

If you have questions or would like to donate to the scholarship fund, contact the Kentucky Public Health Association at (502) 875-2255 or visit their website at www.kpha-ky.org.