Central Appalachian Regional Education and Resource Center (CARERC)

Full Time Faculty

CARERC Administration and Leadership

Wayne T. Sanderson, PhD, CIH
Director, Central Appalachian Regional
Education and Research Center
Professor and Chair, Department of Epidemiology
University of Kentucky
College of Public Health
111 Washington Avenue, Room 213B
Lexington, Kentucky 40536
Phone: (859) 218-2227
Email: wsa223@uky.edu

Steven R. Browning, PhD
Assistant Professor
Department of Epidemiology
111 Washington Ave, Suite 209B
University of Kentucky
College of Public Health
Lexington, Kentucky  40536-0003
Phone: (859) 218-2235
Email: srbrown@email.uky.edu

 

Occupational and Environmental Health Nursing (PhD)

Deborah B. Reed, PhD, MSPH, RN
Distinguished Service Professor
and Good Samaritan Endowed Chair
University of Kentucky
College of Nursing
553 CON Building
Lexington, KY 40536
Phone: (859) 257-9636
Email: dbreed01@uky.edu

Ellen J. Hahn, PhD, RN, FAAN
Professor
College of Nursing
University of Kentucky
519 College of Nursing Building
Lexington, KY 40536
Phone: (859) 257-2358
Email: ejhahn00@email.uky.edu

Occupational Safety (MS)

Scotty Dunlap, EdD, CSP
Assistant Professor
Safety Security and Emergency Management
College of Justice and Safety
250 Stratton Bldg
Eastern Kentucky University
Richmond, KY 40475
Phone: (859) 622-7208
Email: Scotty.Dunlap@eku.edu

Sarah Adkins, MS, PhD candidate
Assistant Professor
Safety, Security, and Emergency Management
College of Justice and Safety
250 Stratton Bldg
Eastern Kentucky University
Richmond, KY 40475
Phone: (859) 622-7913
Email: sarah.adkins@eku.edu

Mining Engineering Safety and Health (MS, PhD)

Joseph Sottile Jr., PhD
Professor
Department of Mining Engineering
University of Kentucky
College of Engineering
234A Mining and Mineral Resources Bldg
Lexington, KY 40506-0107
Phone: (859) 257-4616
Email: joseph.sottile@uky.edu

Thomas Novak, Ph.D.
Alliance Coal Academic Chair
Director of Graduate Studies
Professor, Department of Mining Engineering
University of Kentucky
College of Engineering
234B MMRB
Lexington, KY 40506-0107
Phone: (859) 257-3818
Email: tnovak@engr.uky.edu

Rick Honaker, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Department of Mining Engineering
University of Kentucky
College of Engineering
230A MMRB
Lexington, KY 40506-0107
Phone: (859) 257-1108
Email: rhonaker@engr.uky.edu

Agricultural Safety and Health (MPH)

Wayne T. Sanderson, PhD, CIH
Director, Central Appalachian Regional
Education and Research Center
Professor and Chair, Department of Epidemiology
University of Kentucky
College of Public Health
111 Washington Avenue, Room 213B
Lexington, Kentucky 40536
Phone: (859) 218-2227
Email: wsa223@uky.edu

Mark A. Purschwitz, Ph.D.
Extension Professor and Agricultural Safety Specialist
Department of Biosystems and Agricultural Engineering
University of Kentucky
College of Agriculture
128 CE Barnhart Building
Lexington, KY 40546
Phone: (859) 257-3000, ext. 104
Email: purschwitz@uky.edu