Visit the NEW CoM Homepage |  University of Kentucky |  UK HealthCare |  Give to Medicine |  Diversity  
UK College of Medicine logo Link to the College of Medicine web site
  • ed5
  • rs3
  • cs2
  • ad4

Internal Medicine - Education

Internal Medicine

Internal Medicine


Faculty and Research

Kristy Deep

Kristy Deep, MD, MA, FACP

Internal Medicine Residency Program Director
Dr. Deep attended
UK college of medicine and completed her Internal Medicine Residency at UK.  Afterwards, she served as chief resident and completed an academic medicine fellowship, obtaining a Master's degree in Educational Policy and Evaluation.  Her academic interests are medical decision making, end of life care, and clinical ethics, in which she obtained a Master's degree in 2010. She attends on the internal medicine services.  Outside of work, she likes to play with her daughters and run. 

Selected Honors and Awards:
2003    Alpha Omega Alpha
2005    Eileen Scherl Ambulatory Care Award
2005    KY ACP Resident of the Year Award

Selected Roles and Activities:
2007    Hospital Ethics Committee, Co-Chair
2007    Clinical Ethics Consult Service

2008    Director, Palliative Care Program
2009    Financial Aid Committee
2009    Student Progress and Promotions Committee
2010    UHC Steering Committee, Group Leader: Patient Centeredness
2011    NBME, USMLE Step 3 Test Material Development Committee
2011    University of Kentucky Faculty Senate


Laura C. Fanucchi, MD, MPH

Laura C. Fanucchi, MD, MPH

Associate Program Director
Dr. Fanucchi attended Emory University School of Medicine and completed residency at New York-Presbyterian Hospital/Weill Cornell in 2011. She joined the faculty at University of Kentucky in 2012 as an Academic Hospitalist.  In addition to her interest in medical education, Dr. Fanucchi focuses on care transitions and health services research.


Jacqueline S. Gibson, MD

Associate Program Director
Dr. Gibson received her undergraduate degree from the University of Kentucky and graduated from the University of Kentucky College of Medicine in 1986. She finished her residency training in 1989, also at the University of Kentucky. She has been on faculty for 20 years, but became the Primary Care Tract Program Director in July of 2003. In March 2003, she won the prestigious Sarah Bennett Holmes award for her contribution to women in the university community and for her mentoring of women at the university.


John W. Ragsdale, MD, MS

John Ragsdale, MD, MS

Associate Program Director
Dr. Ragsdale graduated from Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia, PA. He completed his Internal Medicine-Pediatrics residency at UK, serving as Med-Peds chief resident his final year. After residency, he completed a General Internal Medicine fellowship at the University of Pittsburgh and received a Master of Science in Medical Education. He has given multiple workshops at national meetings on various topics in medical education and faculty development. His academic interests include curriculum development, physical exam, and clinical reasoning
. He attends on the inpatient internal medicine services.

Selected Honors and Awards:
2005    Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society
2006    Norman F. Sokoloff Award for Clinical and Diagnostic Skills
2010    Outstanding Med-Peds Resident Teacher 

Selected Roles and Activities:
2011    Course in Scientific Management and Leadership
2013    NBME, USMLE Step 3 Computer-based Case Simulation Test Material Development

2013    Internal Medicine Acting Internship Course Director 


Sean Lockwood

Sean Lockwood, MD

Site Director, Internal Medicine Residency
Dr. Lockwood attended medical school at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in 2006.  He completed an Internal Medicine Residency at the University of Kentucky and served as Chief Resident from 2009-2010.  He is currently working as an academic hospitalist at the VA hospital and is serving as Site Director for the Internal Medicine Residency Program. 


Andrew Hoellein

Andrew R. Hoellein, MD, MS, FACP

Internal Medicine Clerkship Director
Dr. Hoellein graduated from MCP-Hahnemann School of Medicine (now known as Drexel) and completed a residency in Internal Medicine at the University of Kentucky in 2002.  After residency, he completed an academic medicine fellowship earning a Master’s degree in Education.  He is the Internal Medicine Clerkship Director for the required, 3rd-year, 16-week, Internal Medicine-Emergency Medicine Clerkship at the University of Kentucky College of Medicine.  His interests include medical education, preventive medicine, and primary care for persons living with HIV.  He attends on the Internal Medicine wards, resident continuity clinic, and in the Bluegrass Care Clinic.

Selected Honors and Awards:
1999    Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society
2002    Eileen R. Scherl, MD Ambulatory Care Award
2002    Chief Resident’s Resident Award
2005    Clerkship Directors in Internal Medicine National Meeting Best Research Poster
2006    Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award; Arnold P. Gold Foundation.
2006    Abraham Flexner Master Educator Award: Teaching, Evaluation, Leadership,
            Innovation, Development.
2008    Society of General Internal Medicine Southern Region Clinician Educator Award
2008    Elected by class of 2008 to “hood” at graduation ceremony
2010    Fellow, American College of Physicians
2011    Clinical Clerkship Teaching Award


Core Faculty

Romil Chadha, MD

Romil Chadha, MD


Christopher A. Feddock, MD, MS

Christopher Feddock, MD, MS


Charles Sargent, MD

Charles Sargent, MD


Angela Webb, MD

Angela Webb, MD 

Comments and Corrections |  An Equal Opportunity University |  Jobs  |  Terms, Conditions and Accessibility Statements   |  Privacy
© 2012, University of Kentucky College of Medicine, 138 Leader Ave., Lexington, Kentucky, USA 40506-9983
Student Affairs: (859) 323-5261 · Admissions: (859) 323-6161 · Clinical Questions: (859) 257-1000 · Dean's Office: (859) 323-6582
Page last updated Wednesday, September 25, 2013