Training Program for Clinical Scholars in
 Cardiovascular Science NHLBI T32HL091812

NOTE:  This training program has available slots for Post Doctoral Scholars.  Interested individuals should contact Dr. Smyth as soon as possible to be considered as directed by the instructions here.

Program Director:  Susan Smyth, MD, PhD
Program Co Director: Alison Bailey, MD

The University of Kentucky Training Program for Clinical Scholars in Cardiovascular Science is designed to prepare exceptional clinical and postdoctoral fellows to assume leadership positions directing multidisciplinary research in the field of cardiovascular medicine. In the last several years, as a consequence of substantial institutional commitment, we have assembled a integrated approach of incorporating basic, translational and clinical cardiovascular science in four concentrations: Thrombosis and Inflammation; Atherosclerosis and Aneurysm; Cardiac Hypertrophy and Heart Failure; and Vascular Cell Response to Stress. Our cardiovascular science strengths to provide a unique multidisciplinary training program that unites trainees across the disciplines of Medicine, Nursing, and Pharmacy with the goal of increasing the pipeline of clinical investigators who will bridge the gap between basic science advances and their application to clinical medicine. Specifically, we aim to:

1) To provide a rigorous and solid research education in the basic sciences related to cardiovascular research

2) To prepare new researchers for translational and clinical science in a highly interdisciplinary environment

3) To provide training in the efficient and ethical conduct of high quality laboratory management and science

4) To create an environment that incubates fellows and mentors with an innovative and nurturing structure of interlaced mentoring teams

The program is available to MD, RN/PhD, PharmD, and PhDs with clinical emphasis who are at the early postdoctoral stage of their careers. Upon completion of the program, we anticipate that the trainees will have the experience and capabilities necessary to initiate an independent career as clinical investigator.

Training Faculty

All training faculty are members of the Cardiovascular Research Center and are NIH-funded basic scientists and/or NIH- and industry-sponsored clinical scientists with primary research in one of four strength areas: Thrombosis, Heart Failure, Atherosclerosis and Aneurysm, and Vascular Biology. Across these four areas, the faculty share an interest in understanding at a cell and molecular level nodal check points in which inflammation, thrombosis, nutritional and metabolic pathways intersect to impact the development and progression of ischemic vascular disease, aortic aneurysm, and heart failure.

Ahmed Abdel-Latif, Internal Medicine, Cardiology
Jay Ambati, Ophthalmology and Visual Science
Alison Bailey, Internal Medicine, Cardiology
Dennis Bruemmer, Internal Medicine, Endocrinology
Leigh Ann Callahan, Internal Medicine, Pulmonary
Chuck Campbell, Internal Medicine, Cardiology
Lisa Cassis, Pharmacology
Leslie Crofford, Internal Medicine, Rheumatology 
Alan Daugherty, Internal Medicine, Cardiology
Brian Delisle, Physiology
Karyn Esser, Physiology
Frederick de Beer, Internal Medicine, Endocrinology
Brandon Fornwalt, Pediatrics
Ming Gong, Physiology
Victoria King, Internal Medicine, Cardiology 
Terry Lennie, College of Nursing
Zhenyu Li, Internal Medicine, Cardiology
Charles Loftin, Pharmacy
Andrew Morris, Internal Medicine, Cardiology
Debra K. Moser, College of Nursing
Mariana Nikolova-Karakashian, Physiology
Susan Smyth, Internal Medicine, Cardiology
Daret St. Clair, Toxicology
Gerald Supinski, Internal Medicine, Pulmonary
Lisa Tannock, Internal Medicine, Endocrinology
Nancy Webb, Internal Medicine, Endocrinology
Deneys van der Westhuyzen, Internal Medicine, Endocrinology
Sidney Whiteheart, Biochemistry
Jay Zwishenberger, Surgery


Steve Browning, College of Public Health, Epidemiology Advisor
Richard Charnigo, Biostatistics, Statistical Advisor
Bessie Guerrant, Office of Research Assessment, Diversity Advisor
Ada Sue Selwitz, Office of Research Integrity, Research Ethics Advisor

Active Trainees


Christopher Haggerty

Improving assessing of pediatric heart disease with cardiac MRI
Shaojing Ye Platelet secretory pathways in inflammation and thrombosis

Former Trainees

Sasha Bogdanovich, MD, PhD Identification of mediators that regulate physiologic and pathologic vascular growth.
Jo-Ann Eastwood, RN, PhD Understand the hormonal mechanisms involved and behavioral studies aimed at raising the awareness of the condition and halting disease progression.
Joseph Kinner, MD High performance double lumen cannula for a minimally invasive, ambulatory, and percutaneous paracorporeal artificial lung and extracorporeal venovenous perfusion-induced systemic hyperthermia.
Mark Kleinman, MD Dissecting the immunovascular interface for anti-angiogenic therapeutic discovery.
Yuri Klyachkin S1P signaling in bone marrow-derived stem cell mobilization and homing in myocardial ischemia
Julie Oestreich, PharmD PhD Optimizing anti-platelet therapy.
Samy Selim, MD Understanding the molecular basis of adverse outcomes of transfusion therapy.
Travis Sexton Novel clinical targets to prevent inflammation in acute coronary syndromes
Frédérique Yiannikouris, PhD The role of adipocyte-derived angiotensinogen in atherosclerosis and aneurysm formation.t
Tao Wu, PhD Autotaxin/LPA nexus in vascular cell migration and development

Selection Process

Applicants who display the highest potential for success as clinical scientists in academic cardiovascular medicine will be selected as Program scholars. The choice will be made on the basis of academic qualifications, training background, performance record during clinical training, and research accomplishments (papers, abstracts, or other presentations of original work). Importantly, applicants will be judged on the basis of their potential to develop into a successful clinical researcher with leadership skills, as evidenced by previous leadership roles and letters of recommendation.

Eligibility Requirements

Individuals selected for research training supported by NRSA institutional training grants must be citizens or non-citizen nationals of the United States, or must have been lawfully admitted to the United States for permanent residence, i.e., in possession of a currently valid Alien Registration Receipt Card I-551, or some other legal verification of legal admission as a permanent resident. Non-citizen nationals are generally persons born in outlying possessions of the United States (e.g., American Samoa and Swains Island). Individuals on temporary or student visas are not eligible for Kirschstein-NRSA support. In addition, trainees must be able to commit full-time effort in the program at the time of appointment. Postdoctoral trainees must have received, as of the beginning date of the NRSA appointment, a Ph.D., M.D., D.D.S., or comparable doctoral degree from an accredited domestic or foreign institution. Eligible doctoral degrees include, but are not limited to, the following: D.M.D., D.C., D.O., D.V.M., O.D., D.P.M., Sc.D., Eng.D., Dr. P.H., D.N.Sc., Pharm.D., N.D. (Doctor of Naturopathy), D.S.W., Psy.D, as well as a doctoral degree in nursing research or practice.

Interested candidates should send a statement of research interest and curriculum vitae to:
Susan S. Smyth, MD PhD
326 CTW Building
900 S. Limestone Street
Lexington, KY 40536-0200

University of Kentucky College of Medicine - Cardiovascular Research Center
University of Kentucky - An Equal Opportunity University
Copyright © 2014 University of Kentucky Chandler Medical Center.
Comments: Darin Cecil | Last Modified: 01/12/2014
Terms, Conditions & Privacy Statement