Local info
Award nominations






A PDF of the final program is now available. Hard copies will be provided to all registered users at the conference.

SER-CAT 2012 Scientific Program

8:00                        Shuttles from Marriot Residence Inn to Young Library,University of Kentucky Campus

8:15                        Continental breakfast

8:45                        Welcome by Dr. Martha Peterson, Associate Vice President for Research

8:55                        Announcements: David Rodgers and Craig Vander Kooi


Session 1

9:00                        Michael Wiener (University of Virginia)

                                Going for baroque: TonB-dependent outer membrane active transport.

9:25                        Christopher Davies (Medical University of South Carolina)

                                Understanding antibiotic resistance at the structural level.

9:50                        SER-CAT Outstanding Science Award

                               Peter Kwong (NIH, NIAID)

                                 HIV-1 vaccine design with HIV-1 Env structures, broadly neutralizing antibodies, and SER-CAT.


10:20-10:40    Coffee break


Session 2

10:40                     SER-CAT Young Investigator Award

                              Jason Stagno (NIH, NCI)

                               Structural basis for RNA recognition by NusB and NusE in the initiation of transcription antitermination.

11:10                     Samuel Bouyain (University of Missouri-Kansas City)

Protein tyrosine phosphatases and contactins in nervous system development.

11:35                     Poster Talk

                              Guoxing Fu (Georgia State University)

Conformational changes and substrate recognition in Pseudomonas aeruginosa D-arginine dehydrogenase.


12:00-1:15       Group picture and lunch

1:15-2:15         Posters and beamline control workshop


Session 3

2:15                        Denny Mills (APS/Argonne)

2:40                        Peixuan Guo (University of Kentucky)

                                Application of Nanotechnology in Macromolecule Crystallization.


3:05-3:25           Coffee break


Session 4

3:25                        B.C. Wang (University of Georgia)

                                 Forward looking possibilities for beamlines having optimized extended wavelength capabilities.

3:50                        John Chrzas (SER-CAT)


Evening Event

4:40                        Shuttle to Kentucky Horse Park

5:00                        Horse Park Tour, Dinner and Hall of Champions