Request Appointment or 859-323-9707

3 grads

About the University of Kentucky College of Dentistry

Founded in 1962, the University of Kentucky College of Dentistry is recognized as one of the nation's outstanding dental institutions.

Two Departments and twelve Divisions make up the College. In addition to the Doctor of Dental Medicine degree, the College offers postdoctoral programs in six fields of study: General Practice Dentistry, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Orofacial Pain, Orthodontics, Pediatric Dentistry, and Periodontics. Graduate students in Orofacial Pain, Orthodontics and Periodontics receive a Master of Science degree from the University of Kentucky Graduate School and a specialty certificate. All seven programs hold current and full accreditation by the Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA).

The College has a national and international reputation for its dynamic and innovative approaches to dental education. Approximately 200 doctoral students and 30 graduate students and residents are enrolled. In addition, 56 full-time faculty provide an excellent student/faculty ratio and promote a very supportive atmosphere. Doctoral and postdoctoral student dentists are treated with respect and as colleagues. The University of Kentucky emphasizes an environment of collegiality between faculty and students to create a unique educational setting that promotes learning. The College is committed to providing its students with superior programs that prepare them to deliver competent care to patients throughout the Commonwealth and the nation.

View the College's strategic plan.